Current art history news, comments, updates, pictures, videos, reviews, & information posted on FACEBOOK by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Links to art history resources
Custom Search

Survey of Art’s History
in Europe & North America

ARTH 116 SPRING 2017 SCHEDULE REQUIREMENTS

Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe


SCHEDULE

Thursday January 19

Introduction to the Course and Requirements
Introduction to Art History

Fourteenth-Century Art in Europe

Requirements
READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Introduction and Chapter 18


Tuesday January 24
Thursday January 26

Fifteenth-Century Art in Northern Europe

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 19

BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe & Spain: 15th Century


Tuesday January 31
Thursday February 2

Renaissance Art in Fifteenth-Century Italy

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 20

BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy: 15th Century


Tuesday February 7
Thursday February 9

Sixteenth-Century Art in Italy

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 21

BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy: 16th Century



Tuesday February 14
Thursday February 16

Sixteenth-Century Art in Northern Europe and the Iberian Peninsula

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 22

BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe & Spain: 16th Century


Tuesday February 21

REVIEW


Thursday February 23

FIRST TEST


Tuesday February 28
Thursday March 2

Seventeenth-Century Art in Europe

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 23

BROWSE: Baroque Art


SPRING BREAK


Tuesday March 14
Thursday March 16
Tuesday March 21
Thursday March 23

Eighteenth- and Early Nineteenth-Century Art in Europe and North America

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 6: Chapter 30

BROWSE: 18th-Century Art


Tuesday March 28

REVIEW
Second Test Format, Study Images, and Terms


Thursday March 30

SECOND TEST


Tuesday April 4
Thursday April 6

Mid- to Late Nineteenth-Century Art in Europe and the United States

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 6: Chapter 31

BROWSE: 19th-Century Art


Tuesday April 11
Thursday April 13

Modern Art in Europe and the Americas, 1900-1950

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 6: Chapter 32

BROWSE: 20th-Century Art


Tuesday April 18
Thursday April 20
Tuesday April 25

The International Scene since 1950

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 6: Chapter 33

BROWSE: Contemporary Art


Thursday April 27

REVIEW


Tuesday May 2

THIRD TEST