Current art history news, comments, updates, pictures, videos, reviews, & information posted on FACEBOOK by Dr. Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe Links to art history resources
Custom Search

Survey of Art’s History
in Europe & North America

ARTH116 SPRING 2018 SCHEDULE REQUIREMENTS

Christopher L.C.E. Witcombe


SCHEDULE

Tuesday January 16
Thursday January 18

Introduction to the Course and Requirements
Introduction to Art History

Fourteenth-Century Art in Europe

Requirements
READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Introduction and Chapter 17


Tuesday January 23
Thursday January 25

Fifteenth-Century Art in Northern Europe

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 18

BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe & Spain: 15th Century


Tuesday January 30
Thursday February 1

Renaissance Art in Fifteenth-Century Italy

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 19

BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy: 15th Century


Tuesday February 6
Thursday February 8

Sixteenth-Century Art in Italy

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 20

BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Italy: 16th Century



Tuesday February 13
Thursday February 15

Sixteenth-Century Art in Northern Europe and the Iberian Peninsula

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 21

BROWSE: Renaissance Art in Northern Europe & Spain: 16th Century


Tuesday February 20

REVIEW
First Test Format, Study Images, and Terms


Thursday February 22

FIRST TEST


Tuesday February 27
Thursday March 1

Seventeenth-Century Art in Europe

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 4: Chapter 22

BROWSE: Baroque Art


SPRING BREAK


Tuesday March 13
Thursday March 15
Tuesday March 20
Thursday March 22

Eighteenth- and Early Nineteenth-Century Art in Europe and North America

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 6: Chapter 29

BROWSE: 18th-Century Art


Tuesday March 27

REVIEW


Thursday March 29

SECOND TEST


Tuesday April 3
Thursday April 5

Mid- to Late Nineteenth-Century Art in Europe and the United States

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 6: Chapter 30

BROWSE: 19th-Century Art


Tuesday April 10
Thursday April 12

Modern Art in Europe and the Americas, 1900-1950

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 6: Chapter 31

BROWSE: 20th-Century Art


Tuesday April 17
Thursday April 19
Tuesday April 24

The International Scene since 1950

READ: Stokstad & Cothren – Book 6: Chapter 32

BROWSE: Contemporary Art


Thursday April 26

REVIEW


Tuesday May 1

THIRD TEST